Sir John once occupied the chair of chemistry created for Michael Faraday at the Royal Institution of Great Britain, of which he was Director (1986-1991).  Formerly he was Head of the Department of Physical Chemistry, University of Cambridge (1978-1996) and Master of Peterhouse (1993-2002).  He is now Honarary Professor at the Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy, Cambridge.

Back to People